Which is an example of a mid-level practitioner?

Examples of mid-level practitioners include, but are not limited to, health care providers such as nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, nurse anesthetists, clinical nurse specialists and physician assistants who are authorized to dispense controlled substances by the state in which they practice.

What does MLP mean for DEA?

mid-level practitioner
SUMMARY: This final rule amends part 1304 to define the term “mid-level practitioner” (MLP) and allow DEA, as needed, to inspect and copy certain state required documents relating to a MLP’s authority to dispense controlled substances; and amends part 1301 to clarify the exemption from the registration requirement of …

What are the 5 classifications of controlled substances?

The five classes of drugs are narcotics, depressants, stimulants, hallucinogens, and anabolic steroids. This article discusses each of the five schedules of controlled substances and the different substances found under each classification.

What are PAs and NPs called?

Physician Assistants (PAs) and Nurse Practitioners (NPs) are healthcare professionals that are sometimes referred to as ‘Advanced Practice Providers’ (or APPs). While they are two different schools and degrees, they are often categorized together given both professions require a higher level of medical training.

What does mid-level mean in medicine?

The term mid-level refers to the complexity of healthcare situations they handle, not the quality of the care provided. This means that they are trained and legally permitted to provide healthcare in fewer situations than physicians but more than other health professionals.

What are Schedule 1 drugs?

Schedule I drugs, substances, or chemicals are defined as drugs with no currently accepted medical use and a high potential for abuse. Some examples of Schedule I drugs are: heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), marijuana (cannabis), 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (ecstasy), methaqualone, and peyote.