Who designed the Kandem desk lamp?

Marianne Brandt
This Bauhaus desk lamp was designed by Marianne Brandt for Kandem Leuchtenbau Leipzig. It features a glass base and is fitted with one E27 socket.

What is Marianne Brandt famous for?

Marianne Brandt (1 October 1893 – 18 June 1983) was a German painter, sculptor, photographer, metalsmith, and designer who studied at the Bauhaus art school in Weimar and later became head of the Bauhaus Metall-Werkstatt (Metal Workshop) in Dessau in 1927.

What did Marianne Brandt study at Bauhaus?

Marianne Brandt studied painting and sculpture at the Weimar Saxon Grand Ducal Art School from 1911 to 1917. She then went on the study and teach at the Bauhaus in Weimar and Dessau from 1923 to 1928. Between her time at art school and her job at Bauhaus, Brandt worked as a freelance artist.

What did Marianne Brandt make?

Among the best-known products developed at the Bauhaus, the famed German school of modern art, architecture, and design, this teapot was a student work designed by Brandt soon after she joined the metal workshop there.

What inspired Marianne Brandt?

Brandt approached her work from a functionalist perspective that was revolutionary for her time, and the simple clean lines of her pieces reflected the Modernist influence of her mentor. Though she created an amazing quantity of everyday items, including ashtrays, teapots (specifically the now-iconic Model No.

What is Bauhaus art?

Bauhaus was an influential art and design movement that began in 1919 in Weimar, Germany. The movement encouraged teachers and students to pursue their crafts together in design studios and workshops.

Who designed the teapot?

The teapot was invented in China during the Yuan Dynasty. It was probably derived from ceramic kettles and wine pots, which were made of bronze and other metals and were a feature of Chinese life for thousands of years. Tea preparation during previous dynasties did not use a teapot.

Why did Bauhaus move to Dessau?

The Bauhaus was founded in Weimar 1919 by Walter Gropius and remained there until 1925 when it moved to Dessau due to political pressure. It was housed in two neighbouring buildings that had previously been two separate art schools, both designed in the Art Nouveau style by Henry van de Velde.

Who were the Bauhaus artists?


  • Walter Gropius.
  • Paul Klee.
  • Wassily Kandinsky.
  • László Moholy-Nagy.
  • Oskar Schlemmer.
  • Joseph Albers.
  • Mies van der Rohe.
  • End of the Bauhaus.

What did John Ruskin?

John Ruskin, (born February 8, 1819, London, England—died January 20, 1900, Coniston, Lancashire), English critic of art, architecture, and society who was a gifted painter, a distinctive prose stylist, and an important example of the Victorian Sage, or Prophet: a writer of polemical prose who seeks to cause widespread …