Who has won the Order of Merit?

List of members of the Order of Merit

Member number Name Lifetime
1. The Earl Roberts 30 September 1832 – 14 November 1914
2. The Viscount Wolseley 4 June 1833 – 25 March 1913
3. The Lord Kitchener of Khartoum 24 June 1850 – 5 June 1916
4. The Lord Rayleigh 12 November 1842 – 30 June 1919

How prestigious is the order of merit?

There may be, however, only 24 living individuals in the order at any given time, not including honorary appointees, and new members are personally selected by the reigning monarch of the realms, currently Queen Elizabeth II, with the assistance of her private secretaries; the order has thus been described as “quite …

What are the British Empire ranks?

Order of the British Empire

Most Excellent Order of the British Empire
Grades Knight/Dame Grand Cross (GBE) Knight/Dame Commander (KBE/DBE) Commander (CBE) Officer (OBE) Member (MBE)
Former grades Medal of the Order of the British Empire for Gallantry Medal of the Order of the British Empire for Meritorious Service

Who are the 24 members of the Order of Merit?

The current members of the Order of Merit are:

  • Norman Foster (Gazette issue 54962)
  • Sir Roger Penrose (Gazette issue 55859)
  • Sir Tom Stoppard (Gazette issue 55859)
  • Charles, Prince of Wales (Gazette issue 56631)
  • The Lord Rothschild (Gazette issue 56746)
  • Sir David Attenborough (Gazette issue 57645)

Was Margaret Thatcher given the Order of Merit?

On December 7, 1990, Margaret Thatcher was appointed by Queen Elizabeth to the Order of the Merit. The award is personally granted by the Queen, without any input from her officials and is considered the highest honour in the UK.

What does O.M. mean after name?

Order of Merit (OM)

Which is higher BEM or MBE?

CBE is the highest ranking Order of the British Empire award, followed by OBE and then MBE. They are given to people to recognise a positive impact they have made in their work.