Who is Doctor K Kasturirangan?

Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan (born 24 October 1940) is an Indian space scientist who headed the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) from 1994 to 2003. He is presently Chancellor of Central University of Rajasthanand NIITUniversity.

How many members are there in Dr Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan?

Kasturirangan is head of a committee tasked with creating the National Education Policy 2020 for India. Later in September 2021, he was appointed as the head of a 12-member steering committee which would be responsible for developing a new National Curriculum Framework (NCF).

What is the Kasturirangan report?

The Kasturirangan committee report proposes 37 per cent of the total area of Western Ghats, which is roughly 60,000 square kilometres, to be declared as eco-sensitive area (ESA). Out of this, 20,668 sq km of the area falls in Karnataka covering 1,576 villages.

What is Kasturirangan committee?

The Kasturirangan committee report has proposed 37% of the total area of Western Ghats to be declared as Eco-Sensitive Area (ESA). The Karnataka’s Government is of the opinion that declaring Western Ghats as ESA would adversely affect the livelihood of people in the region.

Who prepared Kasturirangan report?

A crucial report on Western Ghats prepared by K. Kasturirangan-led high-level working group (HLWG) has recommended prohibition on development activities in 60,000 km2 ecologically sensitive area spread over Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa, Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

When was Kasturirangan committee constituted?

June 2017
Committee Report Summary K. Kasturirangan) submitted its report on May 31, 2019. The Committee was constituted by the Ministry of Human Resource Development in June 2017.

When was the Kasturirangan committee setup?

In August 2012, then Environment Minister constituted a High-Level Working Group on Western Ghats under Kasturirangan to “examine” the Gadgil Committee report in a “holistic and multidisciplinary fashion in the light of responses received” from states, central ministries and others.

Where is K Sivan now?

He replaced Kailasavadivoo Sivan as his tenure is ending on January 14, 2022. NEW DELHI: The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) officially announced that S Somanath is now ISRO chief with him taking charge as Secretary, Department of Space and Chairman, Space Commission.

Who is K Shivam?

Kailasavadivoo Sivan (born 14 April 1957) is an Indian space scientist who served as the Secretary of the Department of Space and chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation and Space Commission. He has previously served as the Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Center and the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre.

What is the Kasturirangan committee?

What is Kasturirangan committee report?