Are cluster bombs banned?

The Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) is an international treaty that prohibits all use, transfer, production, and stockpiling of cluster bombs, a type of explosive weapon which scatters submunitions (“bomblets”) over an area.

Are cluster bombs still used?

The Convention on Cluster Munitions (Oslo Convention) entered into force in August 2010. As of February 2021, it has been joined by 123 States. The Convention bans the use, production, trade, and stockpiling of cluster bombs.

How many bomblets are in a cluster bomb?

A basic cluster bomb consists of a hollow shell and then two to more than 2,000 submunitions or bomblets contained within it. Some types are dispensers that are designed to be retained by the aircraft after releasing their munitions.

Can cluster bombs be used in war?

IS USING THEM A WAR CRIME? Use of cluster bombs itself does not violate international law, but using them against civilians can be a violation. As in any strike, determining a war crime requires looking at whether the target was legitimate and if precautions were taken to avoid civilian casualties.

Which countries still use cluster bombs?

How many countries use mines or cluster munitions?

User state Locations used
Morocco Western Sahara, Mauritania
Netherlands Former Yugoslavia (Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia)
Nigeria Sierra Leone
Russia Chechnya, Afghanistan (as USSR), Georgia, Syria

When did the US stop using cluster bombs?

Since the 1990–91 Gulf War, the US has dropped cluster bombs on Bosnia (1995), Serbia (1999), Afghanistan (2001–02) and Iraq (2003), according to the Landmine & Cluster Munition Monitor. The last reported US use of cluster munitions was against Yemen in 2009.

Why was cluster bomb banned?

Human Rights Watch says: “Cluster munitions pose an immediate threat to civilians during conflict by randomly scattering submunitions or bomblets over a wide area. “They continue to pose a threat post-conflict by leaving remnants, including submunitions that fail to explode upon impact becoming de facto landmines.”

What countries ban cluster bombs?

Between August 2010 and July 2020, cluster munitions were deployed in seven countries that have not signed the global disarmament treaty banning them: Cambodia, Libya, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, and Yemen.

Which countries banned cluster bombs?

Which countries have cluster bombs?

The following countries are contaminated by cluster munition remnants: Afghanistan, Angola, Azerbaijan*, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Chad, Chile, Croatia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Germany, Iran, Iraq, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Libya, Montenegro, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Ukraine.

Does a 1000 pound bomb weigh 1000 pounds?

The nominal weight of the bomb is 1,000 lb (454 kg), although its actual weight varies between 985 lb (447 kg) and 1,030 lb (468 kg), depending on fuze options, and fin configuration.